League Tables




Forum Discussion



Grand Prix

Congress Reports



Bristol 4NCL


Contact Us









May 2007

Chris Beaumont 6/6 - wins the Cotswold Open   ( 43 games )   Cbv     Pgn

Final Results xls 2006-7

29th May -  Summer Lightning 2007 1st Round Draw            Summer Lightning Printout

Summer Lightning 1st Round Matches to be played 11/12th June


18th May -     South Bristol have a new website -  http://www.freewebs.com/southbristolchessclub/

16th May -     Chipping Sodbury Rapidplay    Sat 2nd June   Download Entry Form

15th May -                                             Chris Beaumont qualifies for the British Championships

Frome Congress May 11 - 13th

On May 11th to 13th the Eighteenth Frome Chess Congress was held at Selwood Middle School. 180 players entered and winners were:

Open :-         72 Games Complete     Cbv       Pgn

First prize was won by Chris Beaumont (Bristol & Clifton) with 4.5/5. Mark Lyell (West London) and Jim Sherwin (Bath) came second on 4/5. Chris Beaumont qualified for the 2007 British Championships with Mark Lyell as reserve. The under 175 grading prize was won by Daniel Hall (Brown Jack) on 3 points.

Major (U155):-

First place was shared between Carl Bicknell (London) and Paul Stephenson (Merseyside) on 4.5/5. Third place went to Raymond Gamble (Spondon) on 4 points. The Under 130 grading prize was won by Joseph Quinn (Horsham) on 3 points.

Intermediate  (U125):-

First place was won by James Galloway (Andover) on 4.5/5 ahead of John Latham (Weston-super-Mare), David Weston (Trowbridge) and Mike Redman (Wiltshire) on 4/5. The Under 100 grading prize was shared between Roy Ludlow (Trowbridge), Oliver Schofield (Bath), John Carr (Portsmouth), Mike Kaye (Weymouth) and Keith Spooner (Highcliffe) all on 2.5 points.

Minor (U100):-

First place was shared by Cameron Lange (Frome & Trowbridge) and Phil Foley (Upminster) on 4.5/5. Third place was shared by John Constable (Coulsdon) and Patrick Sartain (Keynsham) on 4 points. The  Under 80 grading prize was shared between Joe Haines (Weston-super-Mare) and Paul Smith (Rolls-Royce).

Somerset trophies were won by: Jim Sherwin in the Open (Somerset Champion / Denys Bonner Trophy), Andrew Gregory in the Major (Leon York Memorial Trophy), John Latham in the Intermediate (Roy Hossell Trophy), Cameron Lange in the Minor (Cyril Chapman Trophy) and Christian Brown in the Minor (Jean Mackereth Trophy for best performance by an ungraded player).

Cameron Lange won the Cuprinol Junior Trophy (Highest scoring West of England Junior in any section). Trowbridge won the team competition.

12th May -      AGM Agenda            Trophy Winners


1st May -      AGM 24th May  - Cut of date for motions - 8th May

                     Downend Summer Programme - Quickplay Round One Tuesday 8th May

                 Grand Prix 2006-7 Prizewinners


Play Chess online



For the best in local chess

Details from:

David Collier,


44 Cliftonwood Crescent,


BS8  4TU

Tel:  0117 921 3721